Supper

As I said I love cooking with cast iron.  Did you know you can grill with it too? I used my Lodge Grill Grate to grill thinly sliced veges.  This Grill Grate is perfect for all those small cut veges or burgers on a grill or just over a hot bed of coals.

Nathan took this picture of me putting all the marinated goodness on the grill.  I have chicken strips, yellow squash, zucchini, onions, green peppers, and carrots.

Cooking nicely, continuing to add more veges.  I use lump charcoal, this is real wood that has been charred.  I don’t like to use briquettes because it has petroleum and who knows what else.  And did you know there is a warning on the bag stating that burning them produces chemicals known to cause cancer?? Really, I’m sure I don’t want that residue on my food. (Part of the Natural Health spill :))

This looks so good, and you can see the seasoning too!!

A smackeral too hot for the chicken, but it is not too bad.  The veges look perfect though, yeah for me!

Here is all the grilled goodness, ready to go in and make grilled vege and chicken sandwiches.  It smelled divine, super, heavenly, wonderful, and I am hungry now.

I made my sandwich with wheat bread.  I ate a piece of chicken on the side, everyone else put it on their sandwich.

I made a roasted beet salad with romane lettuce, apple, toasted sliced almonds, and a  vinegrette to go on top. Of course roasted beets too!!

This is my smallest cast iron skillet.  It is sooo cute.  I got it at an auction in a big box of stuff, and I did not know it was in there until I got home and unpacked it!! I was soooo happy. I use it alot.

Hope you have a super day and make some good food with your family, set down and visit for an hour about your day’s happenings.

Love life & breathe deep,

Angela

2 thoughts on “Supper

    • Ahhh, that is super sweet to say, thank you. But I confess I saw Bobby Flay grill veges to make a sandwich on tv, however I did use the veges I had and used my own seasonings. I learned to roast beets by getting recipes off of the cooking channel website and I always add whatever sounds good to me on my salads. I eat ALOT of salad, so I kinda have to mix the toppings up a bit. I always said I was born in the wrong century, one too late, because I love campfire cooking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

