Word of the Week

English: Grazing Sheep and Gossamer. The whole...

English: Grazing Sheep and Gossamer. The whole field was covered with gossamer, virtually invisible unless a low viewpoint was taken into the sun. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have my own spiral notebook of words, but as I was looking in the dictionary yesterday I came across a word I was familiar with, but the first definition was not what I expected. So I decided to change the word I was going to use today to this one, I can do that, because I can. 

Here it is:

GOSSAMER

Pronunciation:  [góssəmər]

Definition:  n. 1. a fine filmy cobweb, seen on grass and bushes, or floating in the air in calm weather, esp. in autumn.  2. a thread or a web of this substance. 3. an extremely delicate variety of gauze. 4. any thin, light fabric. 5. a thin, waterproof outer garment, esp. for women.

14th century. Probably < goose + summer1 , period of mild autumn weather when goose was in season and such webs were often seen in the air]
Encarta ® World English Dictionary © & (P) 1998-2005 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

 The diamond-studded gossamers he painted appeared to be floating on top of the grass.

I have seen these so many times and I never knew that gossamer was the word for them!  You all probably knew this because you’re smart. In any case I learned a new word, or rather a new definition for a word today! Use this word today if you can!!!

Love life & breathe deep,

Angela

Leave a Reply

