12 Systems

Since this blog is mainly about my passion, which is natural health and healing, I would like to start really delving into what we are and what our bodies are capable of accomplishing.  I have learned that the human body has an inherent ability to move toward wellness and heal itself.  This may sound crazy or even unbelievable, but it is true.  Hippocrates believed this and in fact this notion originated from him.  He was a vitalist like myself.  I have studied the human body systems and have had 2 physiology & anatomy classes.  I have learned about different systems that function together to keep us up and going.  Can you name the 12 systems of the human body?

William Cheselden (1688-1752): The Anatomy of ...

Here they are:

  1. SKELETAL
  2. CIRCULATORY
  3. INTEGUMENTARY
  4. DIGESTIVE
  5. URINARY
  6. IMMUNE
  7. LYMPHATIC
  8. REPRODUCTIVE
  9. NERVOUS
  10. MUSCULAR
  11. ENDOCRINE
  12. RESPIRATORY

How much do we think about what these systems do for us each day and even moment to moment?  If we become more aware of what our body systems literally DO for us maybe we will treat it a little kinder and nourish it instead of degrade it.

Thus begins a 12 part (wow do I really want to start this????) series about our 12 systems.  I want to super inspire you to get to know your body and how it works and what it needs to continue to function at top-notch ability.  I am 41 years old, and I have 4 kids, 1 grandchild, and 1 grandchild coming in January, and I want to be around a long, long time to share with them and enjoy life with them.  I want the last half (?) of my life to be as mobile and cognizant as the first half.

So join me in the quest to learn about “us”.  Knowledge is power unto understanding.  Healthy is what we all want to be, I hope.

Love life & breathe deep,

Angela

4 thoughts on “12 Systems

  1. Hello, I was brought to your blog via Cindy, and I am very glad she shared your blog with me. I think I will learn a lot from you, and look forward to reading all of your blog. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

Leave a comment