Ready to Begin Again!! With Calendula

Hello all!  I know it has been a super long time since I took the time to visit the blog-o-sphere and even post on my own site, but it has been super crazy busy in my life and time is what I just did not have too much of to spare.  So here I am, giving  some of that “time” I have to share with any one who wants to listen, read, or invest their time.  Holidays were good and got to see many in the family I haven’t seen in a while.  New year was busy too. 

Calendula officinalis

Calendula officinalis, this is a super plant and pot herb.  “Pot herb” means that it is good to cook and eat, in a pot.  I used to think that it was good to grow in a pot, but I learned differently, ha.  By the way you can grow Calendula in a pot if you take the notion to:).

Part used:  flower petals

Some phytochemicals:  caffeic acid, galactose, gentisic acid, lutein, lycopene, malic acid, rutin, salicyclic acid, quercetin

Nutrients:  Calcium, coenzyme Q10, vitamins C and E

Actions:  anti-inflammatory, astringent, vulnerary, anti-microbial, cholagogue, emmenagogue, tonic

Uses:  skin inflammation, diaper rash, external wound, minor burns, gastric ulcers, gall-bladder problems, indigestion, athletes foot, poison ivy, menstrual cramps.

I personally grow and harvest this herb for medicine.  It is easy to grow and will reseed itself every year, this is good if you don’t mind where it pops up next season.  I harvest the flowers after they open and after the dew is gone in the morning.  I place about a handful of them in a small paper lunch bag, fold down the top and place in a dry, warm, dark area.  I check them every other day or so to make sure no mold is creeping in and to give the petals a shake to redistribute them.  After about a week or so they are completely dry, crispy, and still have their color.  I store them in a glass jar, dated and labeled.

I use this great herb in teas, ointments, and tinctures.  It will also be great in a lotion.  Adding it to soap is good also.  A WWII vet told me he witnessed huge vats of  Calendula tincture being used in the field hospitals for flu, infections, and wounds.

Flower of calendula

It is quite a pretty flower to add to any flower bed or landscape.  The color of the petals can range from orange to yellow.

Flower of calendula

Love life and breathe deep,

Angela

8 thoughts on “Ready to Begin Again!! With Calendula

  1. Sounds good… It is very effective herb which have been used by people since ancient times but it is recommended by experts that we should have to take advice from a physician before using it as an alternative in any ailments to avoid extra side effects on health.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Word of the Week | Angela At Her Home

    • Aw, that is so sweet of ya to say, thank you, I have missed being able to spend time blogging. I am going to try to at least post something 3 times a week. Surely I can accomplish that much!?

      Like

Leave a Reply

