Word of the Week

Word of the Week (even though it is not a Monday :))

I have to post when I have time; and between a new grand baby, I have two now!!, starting my garden seed, and putting up shelves in the basement, I have not had much of that precious commodity – time.  However some blogging is better than none, I guess.

Anyway the word I have chosen this week is: ANTIVENOMOUS

Definition:  herbs used as antidotes to animal, vegetable, and mineral poisons.

Many  herbs have this action.  Some are:  Beth Root, Black Cohosh, Blood Root, Borage, Chaparral, Cornflower, Echinacea, Elecampane, Fennel, Garden Carrot, Garlic, Gentain, Hyssop, Juniper berry, Lobelia, Calendula, Olive oil, Plantain, Rue, Sassafras bark, Scullcap, Slippery Elm, Sundew, Sweet Basil seeds, White oak, Wood betony, and Wormwood.

Plantain

Plantain (Photo credit: katlupe)

Some that I put to use frequently are garlic, hyssop, slippery elm, calendula, and plantain.  Plantain is a powerful drawing herb.   Plantain is one of those broadleaf  “weeds” that many try to extirpate from their yards, which is sad because it is quite a wonderful healer to the body.  I use it fresh, frozen in paste form, and in ointments.

Antivenomous herbs can be used when stung by any insect, dog bites, snake bites, infected lacerations or wounds, septicemia (blood poisoning), gang green, boils, and acne.  Poultices, ointments, fomentations, or bathes are excellent ways to apply an antivenomous herb.

This is great info to have.  Every time I am outdoors, whether at a park, campground, or visiting someone, I locate patches of plantain and commit the spot to memory.  That way I am ready to harvest at a moments notice!!

Be prepared!

Love life and Breathe deep,

Angela

Leave a Reply

