My Garden, In My Mind

This time of year is busy for gardeners.  How can this be, you ask.  Well, planning takes a long time.  So does daydreaming about perfect rows of weedless green lushness pronounced with prolific produce!  What a mouthful that was.

Seed catalogues start arriving in my mailbox  in December.  Oh what torture it is to know  you have to wait for 4 months or so before you can really get into the soil and dig in. On the other side of the hoe is knowing you have that amount of time to plan, think, organize, and dream. Dream about how your garden will look, what you will grow, how much you will put up, and how to go about making it all come to fruition.  I  LOVE thumbing through the seed catalogues and looking at all the  pictures :).   They really get a person going with all the verdant views of plant variety.  I get about 8 of them and have ordered from all of them at some time or another.

This year I am going to do something way out there that I have never done.  I am going to have a booth at my local towns’ farmer’s market. I am really excited about it.  I plan to sell the produce from my garden and herbal products that I make.

Farmers' Market

Farmers’ Market (Photo credit: NatalieMaynor)

Tomatoes, of course, peppers, cucumbers, eggplant, lettuces of all kinds, onions, green beans, beets, radishes, zucchini, and squash cover the vegetables.  Comfrey/Calendula ointment, Chickweed/Plantain ointment, lip balm, relaxing herbal tea blend, peppermint tea blend, immune tea blend,  and homemade soap  are some of the herbal products I will offer.

I have already started some seeds in seed starting trays filled with seed starting soil.  It  is exciting to  see little tiny sprouts emerge through the soil!  I will start more this month and some next month.  I am also starting some important herbs to add to my herb garden.

If any of ya have done this before, please share what works and doesn’t, or anything you think I need to know!!  Let the growing begin!

Love life and breathe deep,

Angela

6 thoughts on “My Garden, In My Mind

  1. Angela, having your own vegetable garden, and being able to grow what you need is so positive. Just walking out to your garden, and then spending time weeding and watering puts one in a wonderful space. Most important – you can have a fun growing unexpected garden treats. I love my garden and I know you’ll love yours. Virginia

    Like

Leave a Reply

