My Favorite Things

Everyone has lots of favorite things, and I to too.  One of my favorite things to do is bake homemade bread.  I have made a lot of dinner rolls, biscuits, bread, and sweet rolls like cinnamon, orange, and spice rings over the years.  I have even made doughnuts and fruit-filled pastries.  The smell of baking bread wafting from the oven is unrivaled as the best smell that can come from a kitchen, in my opinion.  As a natural health advocate homemade bread, or any bread for that matter,  is not exactly on the menu, especially white bread, which I only make around Thanksgiving.  I make tasty crescent rolls.  A feast is special so you make special dishes, and for me, one of them is rolls.

IMAG0616

So when I do make bread, it is a special treat.  Oh can I gorge on these babies!!  Warm out of the oven with a pat of butter – MMmmm Good.

IMAG0617

I made a green bean/potato/ham dish my family has named Hillbilly Soup.  It goes wonderfully with homemade wheat rolls.  We were all so full!!  Feels good to share a meal with family.  I hope that parents try to sit down to a home-cooked meal often and talk it up around the supper table.  We did and I would not trade those years for nothing, even though it was a ton of work.  Four kids can really put away the food!  It seemed they never got full!  Families are great, I smile every time I see a young family because it reminds me of my family a long time ago.  I have TWO grandkids now, WOW, when did that happen??  LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!

088

Hillbilly Soup, it has a broth but this plate doesn’t show it well.

087

Samuel, my first grandchild.

How did I get off track?  Oh yeah, food, families, and eating.  My family is another favorite thing of mine. So is eating:).Well, it is good to be reminded that kids are special people in our lives and sharing our time with them is important, especially around the dinner table.

Love life and breathe deep,

Angela

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

